AOI Council

The Council is the governing body of the Association.

The Association is constituted as a company limited by guarantee. It is a non-profit organisation with all funds applied to achieving its objectives and plans. It is governed by its Memorandum and Articles of Association.

The organisation is governed by its board of directors which is known as the Council. It comprises 16 elected members, four of whom are designated as regional representatives. These positions are voluntary and unpaid.

The Executive Committee is a sub-set of Council comprising of the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and two further members of Council. All of these are elected by Council annually. Council meets 5 times per annum with the Executive Committee meeting in the intervening months, plus occasional additional meeting as needs determine.

The Association is required to produce detailed audited accounts annually and these are presented at the Annual General Meeting for acceptance and ratification. Four Council members are required to retire by rotation annually and election of replacements occurs at the AGM. The AGM is the ultimate decision-making forum.

There are three standing Committees open to all members to serve upon:

  • Continuing Professional Development
  • Professional Qualifying Examinations
  • Professional Services

The Association implements a Code of Ethics and Practice which all members are required to adhere to as a condition of membership.




AOI President - Patricia Dunphy FAOI

AOI Treasurer - Derville Pitcher FAOI

AOI Hon. Secretary
Barry Lawlor FAOI

Chair of Professional Services
Fiona Kavanagh FAOI

Chair of Education
Martin O'Brien FCOptom